Waiting Out a Storm Front

20140226-152504.jpg
KA POW!!

A storm front passed through today dumping heavy rain and causing power outages in the Jacksonville, FL area. The temperature dropped as well.

We decided to lay low and not paddle in the rain. It was a good excuse for Jim to rest his achy foot and keep it dry. Elevating it helps too. The swelling continues to go down. Looks promising.

Our paddle continues tomorrow. Closer to the end, bitter sweet emotions are starting to manifest. Fighting off post travel depression will be in order. Marc’s already considering ping pong or speed stacking lessons.

We are still on schedule to finish Saturday March 1, 2014 landing around noon at the North End Boat Ramp at Fort Clinch. The ramp is also known as the 14th Street Ramp and the Dee Dee Bartels Ramp.

Advance Around,

Marc and Jim

About Kayak Around Florida

We're two guys who paddled kayaks around Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waiting Out a Storm Front

  1. Doc Slawter says:

    You both are hero’s in my book. Just think you two took on an impossible task of going around a state that was wild and free. And we live in a country that is free to do something like you two just did. I’m proud of you two and do want to see you again. YOU DID IT. Who wouldent be proud of you two. When I went to war I was just a kid but ended up a man. I went on a journey like you did. I had to walk it. And when the bullets flew by me I took it as work. No better job in life than helping each other on a mission of your undertaking. You are a team. Helping and showing this country that you can do anything you want when you have a team that is willing to do it. Love you two. DOC

  2. Don Conner says:

    Congratulations on the Journey. I had hoped to be at the Half Way party, but with your schedule and our weather it didn’t happen. Then I said that I would be there at the end, but you finished on the one weekend that I have a ski trip in WV. Are you going to do a presentation on the trip? I would love to see the pictures, tweets, and your comments. One of my favorite sayings is “FOR MY PART, I TRAVEL NOT TO GO ANYWHERE, BUT TO GO, I TRAVEL FOR TRAVEL’S SAKE, THE GREAT AFFAIR IS TO MOVE. Robert Louis Stevenson

    Paddle on Mark and Jim.

    • Don, Sorry we won’t be able to see you at the end. That ski trip sounds fun. We are going to take some time off, wash all this smelly gear, then start sorting through all these pictures. Need to do a summary and lessons learned post for the blog. Stay tuned.

      Thanks for consistently following along and commenting. We enjoyed that tremendously.

      Cheers,

      Marc and Jim

      Sent from my iPad2

      >

  3. I think that was a very “Wise” decision. Never want to be out around that kind of lighting in any kind of small boat or watercraft. Also glad to hear the foot is some better but it has had a challenge being cramped up in the Yak without much movement since it got infected. Don’t forget to post photos of the Arrival Party where you land and Take out. 🙂

  4. Maryellen says:

    Wow! What a picture and what a journey full of adventures you 2guys have had! Exciting that you are accomplishing your goal in successfully completing your Paddle Around Florida, but I know you will experience post-paddling blues. Sure wish I could be there to greet you 2guys on your triumphal entry North End Boat Ramp at Fort Clinch. Amazing ride you 2guys! Kudos! Glad to hear Jim’s foot is getting better! Yay! Looking forward to hearing of your next adventure. In the meantime, paddle on!

  5. Cynthia Britz says:

    I’m so pumped to know that you two are so close! You will finish this epic trip and need to rely on your great memories to get you through the post Kayak slump. Meeting up with friends for food, drink, and memories will also help! 🙂

  6. Marilyn Marks says:

    Marc might be thinking of ping pong, but I’m thinking of chocolate truffles! Ready to pursue that hobby again??

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

