Salt Air Calling…

20131215-204830.jpg

Dog chillin’

Our stay at Hudson Beach was restful and rejuvenating.  A couple restaurants provided good food and killer live music. We did walk a mile to a Winn Dixie and Burger King yesterday. Felt good to exercise our legs.

We also walked through a couple marinas and admired some really nice sailboats. “Imagine living on one?” we each said in unison. Too funny.

Today we spent our time charging batteries, pre-packing gear, and looking over the charts plotting the next several days camp spots.

Our kayaks are stored near our motel room. We had to unload them and carry them (across the street) here since the beach landing/ launch is part of a public park. Safer doing that.

Jim flipped his kayak over and admired all the scrapes and gouges on the underside of the hull.  The many spiral plastic slivers coming off that orange hull looks like cheddar cheese coming out of a cheese grater. Yikes!  A heat gun and a putty knife is the only thing that will smooth them all out.

Tomorrow comes soon.  The salt air calls.

Advance Around,

Marc and Jim

 

20131215-202847.jpg
Picture of the scrapes doesn’t do it justice.

About Kayak Around Florida

We're two guys who paddled kayaks around Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Salt Air Calling…

  1. Ron Horton says:

    Peter, Paul, and Mary were singing about your trip 50 years ago – even if it was the B side of “Settle Down (Goin’ Down That Highway)”

    Lord I’m one, Lord I’m two, Lord I’m three, Lord I’m four,
    Lord I’m 500 miles from my home.
    500 miles, 500 miles, 500 miles, 500 miles
    Lord I’m five hundred miles from my home.

    Not a shirt on my back, not a penny to my name
    Lord I can’t go a-home this a-way
    This a-away, this a-way, this a-way, this a-way,
    Lord I can’t go a-home this a-way.

    Advance around!

  2. Maryellen says:

    I understand about the scrapes…doesn’t look nearly as bad in the pictures as it REALLY is…all part of the journey, eh? Glad to hear you had a restful stop and were able to recoup to some degree…yes, once you are on the journey, you don’t want to stay in one spot too long…the sea is calling…paddle onward and around. Hope the weather is moderating. Sending early Christmas cheer to you 2guys! 🙂

  3. russ barringer says:

    congratulations on your first 500.

Comments are closed.