The Verdict….

Had a good follow up visit with my Orthopedist today. The MRI revealed I have some minor damage in my shoulder that will NOT require surgery. However, I have to be careful and avoid hyperextending my arm above or behind my head. Sort of like the position a baseball pitchers arm takes when throwing a fast ball. Any excessive exertion in that position can be bad.

The doctor gave me the all clear to workout, kayak, and do any other type of physical activity knowing this limitation.

I start physical therapy tomorrow and have another follow-up with the doctor in three weeks. I should be good to go for the trip by mid-to-late October. The doctor did say I can expect some days during the trip where my shoulder becomes inflamed and sore but otherwise no worries.

Thank goodness for a favorable report. Reminds me of this quote:

“Your goal shouldn’t be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving in a beautiful and well preserved body, it should be like a skid in sideways, your body thoroughly worn out, screaming ‘Yahoo! What a ride!'”
Bear Grylls

– Marc

About Kayak Around Florida

We're two guys who paddled kayaks around Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.